Join Us

Together we will celebrate our first fifty years, drawing courage from the legacy of leaders across our last half-century as we step together into the next one.

Not able to join us on September 27? Participate in spirt by placing a message on our Movement Moments Wall! For more information contact Susan Rightsell at 202-339-9332 or [email protected]

This Year's Program

Champion in Community Organizing

Fair Immigration Reform Movement

Champion in Philanthropic Leadership

Barbara Picower, President, The JPB Foundation

Champion in Public Service

Hon. John Lewis, Representing Georgia's 5th District

Emerging Change Champion

John Jairo Lugo, Unidad Latina en Acción

Recognizing the Contributions of

Outgoing President Deepak Bhargava


Melissa Harris-Perry



The Annie E. Casey Foundation

Marguerite Casey Foundation

The Nation



Andrea Soros Colombel

Bauman Foundation

Dorian T. Warren

Paulette Meyer & David Friedman

Quinn Delaney & Wayne Jordan


Chris Hughes and Sean Eldridge

Ed & Jan Booth


Evelyn and Walter Haas, Jr. Fund

Hannah L. Kranzberg

Jonathan and Connie Heller

NextGen America

Nia Community Foundation

Susan Sandler and Steve Phillips

United Food & Commercial Workers International Union


Carol M. Barger

Clifford Chance US LLP

Gelman, Rosenberg & Freedman

Harmon, Curran, Spielberg & Eisenberg, LLP

Jeff & Karen Berman

Mary Mountcastle

Naomi Aberly

Paula and Barry Litt

Planned Parenthood Federation of America




American Postal Workers Union, AFL-CIO

Donna Katzin

Jane Fox-Johnson

National Immigration Forum

Unbound Philanthropy

United Bank

Deepak Bhargava Sponsor

Accelerate Change

Arlene Holt Baker & Willie Baker

Betsy Krieger

Bill Dempsey

Cecilia Munoz & Amit Pandya

Center on Budget and Policy Priorities

Center for Popular Democracy

Community Service Society of New York

Deepak Pateriya & Pronita Gupta

Diane Feeney

Donna Hall

Garland & Deborah Yates

Family Values@ Work

Jackie Jenkins-Scott

Jim and Suzanne Gollin

Jim Weill and Judy Waxman

Jobs With Justice

Jonathan Rose

Judy Patrick

Julia Taylor Kennedy

Kelly Brown

Lisa Garcia-Bedolla

Manuel Pastor

Mary Lassen & Martin Liebowitz

Mary Morris Willis

Nancy & Bart Westcott

National Domestic Workers Alliance

National LGBTQ Task Force

Pillars Fund

Robert E. Friedman

Sherece West-Scantlebury and Joe Scantlebury

Tim Sweeney

The Voter Participation Center

Walden Asset Management

Honorary Host Committee

Andrew Friedman

The Center for Popular Democracy

Alan Jenkins

The Opportunity Agenda

Andrew Mott

Community Learning Partnership

Arlene Holt Baker

CCC Board

Bill Vandenberg

Open Society Foundations

Bob Greenstein

Center on Budget and Policy Priorities

Cathy Cha

Evelyn and Walter Haas, Jr. Fund

Cecile Richards

Cecilia Munoz

New America

Cindy Estrada


DaMareo Cooper

Ohio Organizing Collaborative

Darren Walker

Ford Foundation

Deepak Bhargava

CCC President

Deepak Pateriya

CCC/A Chief of Staff

Donna Hall

Women Donors Network

Doran Schrantz


Dorian Warren

CCCA President

Ed Booth

CCCA Board

Esther Lopez


Felicia Wong

Roosevelt Institute

Gara LaMarche

The Democracy Alliance

George Soros

Open Society Foundations

Gloria Walton


Gustavo Torres

Casa De Maryland

Jane Fox-Johnson

CCC Board

Jennifer Knox

Washington Interfaith Network

Jim Gollin

CCCA Board

Judy Patrick

CCC Board

Katrina vanden Heuvel

The Nation

Kerry Kennedy

Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights

Liz Simons

Heising-Simons Foundation

Luz Vega-Marquis

Marguerite Casey Foundation

Maeve Kennedy McKean

Mary Beth Maxwell

Human Rights Campaign

Mary Kay Henry


Mary Lassen

CCC/A Managing Director

Michelle Tremillo

Texas Organizing Project

Pablo Eisenberg

Peter Edelman

Georgetown Law Center

Hon. Pramila Jayapal

Congresswoman Representing the Seventh District of Washington

Quinn Delaney

CCC Board Chair

Rashad Robinson

Color of Change

Rich Stolz


Mrs. Robert F. Kennedy

Sarita Gupta

Jobs With Justice

Susan Sandler

CCCA Board Chair

Tim Sweeney

CCC Board

Tom Steyer

NextGen America

William Julius Wilson

Harvard University

Spirit of the Awards

We celebrate the work that often goes unheralded, and the people and organizations that keep our vision for a just world alive. Too frequently, we focus only on the final outcome of a campaign instead of taking a moment to honor the often-unsung heroes behind the scenes. The Community Change Champions Awards were created to do just that: to recognize the people and organizations whose work is making progress toward social justice a reality.

The organizers and leaders who inspire people to identify the changes they need and take action to fight for them.

The public servants who carry the voices of the people with them into the corridors of power.

The artists and thinkers who envision a more just future, and what it will take to get us all there.

The donors and philanthropists who help build a broader movement by connecting people with resources that help them fight for change.

Our partners in the labor movement, who share CCC’s commitment to rights and opportunity for hard-working people.

The organizations that bring people together and build their communities with grassroots power.

And the activists who demonstrate bravery, determination and resolve, even when the obstacles seem insurmountable and change seems out of reach.

Previous Honorees

These awards are all about honoring an outstanding group of leaders in the fight for economic equity and social justice. Each year we celebrate social justice heroes – both sung and unsung – who have dedicated their work and, in some cases, their lifetimes to change the lives of low-income people and people of color across the country.

The Emerging Change Champion Award was established by the Center for Community Change and the Petra Foundation to recognize emerging or overlooked champions of change, who work to build power for greater social and economic justice in low income communities, specifically low income communities of color. The application for nominating potential Emerging Change Champions is now closed.


Last Year's Event Photos